Residential Energy Efficiency and Beneficial Electrification Task Force

NASEO’s Residential Energy Efficiency and Beneficial Electrification Task Force was formed by State Energy Offices to prepare for two new residential energy efficiency programs – Home Energy Performance-Based Whole-House Rebates Program and High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebate Program – created by the Inflation Reduction Act. It is open to all State Energy Offices, includes a private-sector advisory group, and is co-chaired State Energy Directors. The functions of this Task Force are to develop principles for U.S. Department of Energy guidance that will be associated with these programs to reflect the variety of markets and priorities of State Energy Offices, draft program templates for State Energy Offices with deployment options and to serve as the space for State Energy Offices, Federal agencies, and private-market actors to discuss these programs. 

To join the Task Force, please contact Maddie Koewler at

The co-chairs of this Task Force are:

  • John Williams, New York State Energy Research & Development Agency, NASEO Board Chair
  • Andrew McAllister, California Energy Commission, NASEO Board Past Chair
  • Dan Burgess, Maine Governor’s Energy Office, NASEO Board Member
  • Michelle Gransee, Minnesota Department of Commerce Energy Division, NASEO Board Member

Upcoming Meetings

Select Previous Meetings

State Energy Office Members

  • Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs
  • Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment 
  • California Energy Commission
  • Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
  • DC Department of Energy and Environment 
  • Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
  • Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources
  • Indiana Office of Energy Development
  • Kentucky Office of Energy Policy
  • Louisiana Department of Natural Resources
  • Maine Governor's Energy Office
  • Maryland Energy Administration
  • Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources
  • Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
  • Minnesota Department of Commerce Energy Division
  • Montana Department of Environmental Quality
  • New Jersey Board of Public Utilities
  • New York State Energy Research & Development Agency 
  • Oregon Department of Energy
  • Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection 
  • Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources
  • South Carolina Energy Office - Office of Regulatory Staff
  • Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation Office of Energy Programs
  • Texas State Energy Conservation Office
  • Vermont Department of Public Service
  • Virginia Department of Energy
  • Washington State Department of Commerce
  • Wisconsin Office of Energy Innovation

NASEO Affiliate Members

  • American Gas Association
  • Beneficial Electrification League
  • Center for Sustainable Energy
  • CLEAResult
  • Earth Advantage
  • Edison Electric Institute
  • Elevate
  • Enervee
  • Franklin Energy
  • Frontier Energy
  • Inclusive Prosperity Capital
  • Lowe's Companies, Inc. 
  • Performance Systems Development
  • Sealed
  • Tennessee Valley Authority
  • VEIC